Don’t buy this eye shadow in these colors.

8 Jul

image
Revlon Colorstay 16hr Eyeshadow Quad in Free Spirit – $7.99 online, $8.49 at my local CVS

I ordered the Total Beauty Revlon Collection (no longer available) recently and even though I was skeptical of drug stores quality eyeshadow, I was pretty impressed with the Revlon Colorstay 16 Hour Eye Shadow Quad in Sea Mist, so I opened to the idea of picking up the same quad in more playful colors. I have grown an affinity over the last two years towards Urban Decay, Stila, and especially theBalm’s amazing eyeshadow quality that I never considered buying drugstore brands’ eyeshadow (unless they are uber uber discounted, then the bargain shopping monster in me takes over my body and wallet), I own too much eyeshadow to wantonly add more to my collection.

However.

I liked the colors in the Revlon Colorstay 16 Hour Eye Shadow Quad in Free Spirit, this was part of the same seasonal Revlon collection as the items I received in the Total Beauty Box. It came with a little pamphlet with a combination of looks to make with the new shadows and lip butters. When I saw the Revlon display at CVS I couldn’t talk myself out of buying the Free Spirit quad, with its matte blue and periwinkle colors. It was $8.49 with no special offers going on and I had no coupons, I impulsively just bought it.
image
In the swatch above I had to slather on many many layers to get the pigment to show in 3 of the 4 colors, the beige color only one swipe. Can we say CHALKY color or what? My medium skin tone does the chalky quality no favors, either.

image

Oops, these are swatched backwards! This is MUCH better with a shimmery creme shadow as a base, though I still had to apply many many times to get this pigmentation and can still see the bottom shimmer through the applied colors.

It seems like my pricier eyeshadows must have a built in primer, along with more pigment and much silkier texture. I wish I could return this Revlon palette, I was okay with the quality of the Sea Mist quad from the Total Beauty Revlon box, but Free Spirit really sucked. I am convincing myself not to throw it out and I can just use the beige color for an everyday-going-to-work look. That was the winner of the 4. Even though I bought this to try out the playful blue shades, I got one good beige out of it. Ironic? Maybe the universe is telling me to stop spending $$ on makeup. Never! Hahaha.
image

On to my 2nd bad review:
Revlon Lip Butters in Sorbet and Pink Lemonade. Both colors were swiped a few times to get the darker colors to show up since they are intended to be a sheer application of color. If you are a fan of wearing lip color, I highly recommend you avoid from this same collection the Pink Lemonade shade Lip Butter (bottom color swatch in photo). It basically shows up invisible since it’s such a sheer light pink, and feels like a thick, heavy mouthful of chapstick if you try to layer it enough to achieve any hint of color. If you don’t like wearing lip color, then you are the intended target for Pink Lemonade. Sorbet (top fuscia color), however, is…how should I phrase this…amazeballs!! as much as I dislike Pink Lemonade, I love Sorbet times three!!!

If you have different opinions, let me know if you are applying a shadow primer for better effect, which brand? and if you have a review or photos that I can check out on your blog!

Does Revlon have a shadow primer? Has anyone tried it? I’ve only used Urban Decay’s awesome primer, can anyone recommend a drugstore brand that works as well?

Leave a Reply

