Glossybox – May 2013

31 May

image

May Glossybox – My subscription is for $60 for 3 months, otherwise it is $21/month.

This is the box that burst my box subscription box bubble.

image

It’s been so thrilling receiving these subscription boxes over the last two months that it was bound to start tapering off. Am I jaded? Over box-stimulated? Looking a gift horse in the mouth? Whatever it is, I wasn’t nearly as thrilled with this month’s Glossybox as I was with April’s box. I LOVED my April box (TIGI Glow Blush is SO worth the entire box)! I think since I have never heard of any of this month’s brands and I don’t normally use masks or go to waxing salons and I just received a great black kohl eyeliner & Coolway styling spray in my Beauty Box 5, I don’t wear perfume very often, I didn’t find anything that I just couldn’t wait to bust out of the package to use. All in good time, I suppose.

Sebastian Volupt Spray Gel – approx $4. I am skeptical of the gel part, hoping it’s not like a crispy hair gel product.

Etre Belle Collagen & Aloe Vera Hydro Mask – $39 for 10. My boyfriend does more facial masks than me, but maybe I’ll try it out myself.

Nicka K Perfume Stick – I am not a perfume person, but Glossybox managed to find a scent I can handle. I really really like this, it has an earthy fresh scent that it’s not a synthetic chemical/alcohol smell and fits on lightly so you can build it up if you wash want or just have a light layer. I would love to see this as a scented candle!

Extreme Lashes by Jo Mouselli Gel Eyeliner Pencil in Xtreme Black & Pencil Sharpener – at first I was like “oh ok, another black pencil” buy NO. This only takes a very light touch to apply a dense black line = mop tugging on eye lids. Warning! You will need a really awesome makeup remover to clean this off, it really is going to be a long lasting liner. Of course I removed the cap, dropped the pencil, broke the tip off completely, re-sharpened it and then got to try it. Remove cap gently, ladies! #clumsy lol

Epionce Intense Defence Anti-Age + Repair Serum – Um, full size 30ml is $136, so upon closer inspection I am more excited to try this pricey sample.

European Wax Center Exfoliating and Slow It Body Lotion Sample Packet + Coupon for FREE wax at one of their salons.

I have to say that my favorite part about receiving Glossybox is their presentation with the girlie pink box and the pink ribbon wrapped innards. This is one classy looking package to get delivered! I am building my excitement for the gel eyeliner pencil – how thoughtful to include a sharpener! Though I may complain about not being as excited for this month’s box of products, I am choosing the Extreme Lashes Gel eyeliner pencil as the validation item for this box. Also looking forward to the Sebastion Volupt Spray. The test for this spray will be using it and blow drying my hair – does it make my hair super frizzy like it usually gets or does it solve that problem??
image

I know this isn’t the most glowing review, but it you do want to try out a Glossybox subscription, here is my referral link: Sign up here

I haven’t actually referred anyone yet and I’m not sure how the referral points work (aka “glossy dots”), maybe I can use referral points towards a future box to review?

Was anyone actually excited for this month’s Glossybox contents? What was your favorite?

 

One Response to “Glossybox – May 2013”

  1. SweetiePie54 June 2, 2013 at 7:07 am #

    I didn’t love this month’s box. I’ve been a subscriber since January and have liked/loved every box I have received with the exception of this one. This one was just okay. I think I am disappointed just because this was their “Celebration Box” for their one year anniversary and it was just kind of meh. I got the same items as you with the exception of the eyeliner and the item by epionce. Instead I got a Color Control Cushion Compact from Amore Pacific which I am actually looking forward to trying if I can figure out how the heck to use it and the My Prime Mattifying Moisturizer which I already received in a Birchbox. I didn’t get the free wax coupon which I was looking forward to the most since I need to get my eyebrows waxed, but oh well. 1 meh box out of 5 isn’t bad. It looks like the June box will be good. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

