Zoya – Jacqueline Nail Polish Experiment

26 May

image

My May Ipsy Glam Bag brought me Zoya nail polish in Jacqueline. This is my first Zoya polish, I really wish it had made a better impression. I am spoiled now with my growing collection of Julep polishes. Jacqueline is an opaque off white color, it’s really thick and streaky, I had a hard time applying clean even strokes. Photo above is 3 coats, plus gold glitter Suncoat polish from my May Eco Emi box (review post coming soon).

image

Today I decided to mix in a powder eyeshadow to my Zoya color. Here are the potential options. Loreal HIP (high intensity pigment) kohl eyeliner powder in Burgundy, Teal, Navy, Urban Decay loose powder in Gunmetal & Protest.

image

I tested each powder color with a big drop of polish.

image

Mixed together, 3 of the 5 options turned gray. I opted to use HIP in Teal. It got a little messy, but I dumped in about 1/3 of the container into the nail polish and started shaking.

image

Looks pretty cool so far!

Just keep shaking….
image

3 Responses to “Zoya – Jacqueline Nail Polish Experiment”

  1. boxyfoxybeauty May 26, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I got the same color in my ipsy bag and I had the same problem with it being really thick. Good idea with the powder pigments!

    • imsosuper May 27, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

      Maybe because of all the shaking, but it actually seems thinner since I added the blue and it is way easier to apply now. It was too wierd as a thick off-white color.

      • boxyfoxybeauty May 27, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

        Wow! It looks way better after you added the blue. I really hated the off-white color on my nails. I think I need to change mine up now!

Leave a Reply

