My First Ipsy Subscription Box – April 2013

16 Apr

Image April Ipsy Subscription Box!

For $10 I received a full size Be a Bombshell Blush – Beach Please ($16.50), Two Cosmetics Eyeshadow Duo – Heartache ($6.99), Sation Nail Polish – Miss Professional ($5), and a deluxe size Sexy Hair Powder Play Volume Powder ($?) in a cute white/pink cosmetic bag. Image

I HAD to sample the hot pink blush right away, I put it on both my friend and myself (she was with me when I checked my mail). It is shockingly pigmented! A little goes a long way. And it’s matte!! So excited for matte blush! I was bummed thebalm.com was sold out of their matte blush last week when they had their 50% off sale. Ipsy to the rescue!! The eyeshadow is suppose to be the same color, one with shimmer and one is matte. The matte is awesome, natural color can be an everyday color, and the shimmer is not too silvery or chalky like a cheap quality. Did I mention no parabens in Two Cosmetics eyeshadows? I give it bonus points for that alone!

Image

The Sation nail polish is an Ipsy exclusive shade. Very sheer, brush makes it easy to apply without smearing it everywhere. I put two coats on in the picture above, but I ended up adding another coat and Essie good-to-go top coat. Again, bonus points for not having unnecessary chemicals, like formaldehyde, in the polish blend, but took a little longer to dry. This is a classy sheer pink color, one coat made my nails look healthy with a barely-there amount of color.

I haven’t tried out the volume powder yet, it will get used, though!

Image

Pretty in Pink was this month’s theme and for about $30 worth of product for only $10, I would say my first month of Ipsy is a huge win. I would never have picked out that hot pink blush, or the pink eyeshadows, and I am due for a nudey-pink nail color. Channeling the late Mr. Ebert, I give this 3.75 stars – minus .25 stars for the methylparaben and propylparaben in the blush 😦 Luckily the color is so strong it must be applied lightly anyway!

Ipsy.com

On another note, I signed up for Conscious Box yesterday because I saw a code EARTHMONTH for 50% off. Today their Facebook page posted code 5DOLLARGIFT towards any purchase. They support small eco-friendly businesses and it’s a $19.99/month box.I signed up for a year for $109 with the 50% off code!! Definitely getting carried away with this whole subscription box idea. If you click my link below to subscribe, they’ll give me a few bucks for helping to spread the word!
Consious Box Referral Link.

Leave a Reply

